CBA Leadership Honored by UConn School of Law

Written Monday, September 30, 2019

On September 12, UConn School of Law honored numerous CBA leaders during its Gallery of Pioneers Celebration at the Thomas J. Meskill Law Library. At the event reception, photographs were unveiled for the law school’s alumni, honoring CBA President Ndidi N. Moses, CBA President-elect Amy Lin Meyerson, CBA Vice President Cecil J. Thomas, CBA Past President Karen DeMeola (2017-2018), and CBA member Christine Jean-Louis.

In honor of UConn School of Law’s upcoming centennial in 2021, the Gallery of Pioneers was created to hold a series of photographic portraits of “pioneer” alumni and faculty from the law school’s history, representing individuals who were among the first to break through barriers and/or emerge as leaders in public, business, or philanthropic life. The photo series is meant to inspire students and faculty who follow. There are currently 80 alumni’s honored as pioneers.

UConn School of Law listed the pioneers' honors as follows:

Ndidi N. Moses
CBA President


President, Connecticut Bar Association; Assistant US Attorney and Civil Rights Coordinator; Past President, George W. Crawford Black Bar Association; Chair, Connecticut Judicial Selection Commission.

Amy Lin Meyerson
CBA President-elect

President-elect, Connecticut Bar Association; Past President, National Asian Pacific American Bar Association; Founder and Past President, Connecticut Asian Pacific American Bar Association.
 Cecil Thomas
Cecil J. Thomas
CBA Vice President

Vice President, Connecticut Bar Association; President, UConn Law School Alumni Association; Past President, South Asian Bar Association of Connecticut; Founder, SABAC Endowed Fund.
Karen DeMeola
CBA Past President (2017-2018)

First person of color to lead the Connecticut Bar Association (2017-2018); Assistant Dean for Finance, Administration and Enrollment, UConn School of Law; Leader in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Medal of Excellence.
Christine Jean-Louis
CBA Member

Assistant Attorney General in Connecticut; First Caribbean American and First Black Woman President, UConn Law Alumni Association (2017-2018); Clerk to US District Court Judge Alvin Thompson.